University of New Orleans in Second Life

The University of New Orleans is getting ready to offer classes in Second Life, according to this bit in The Chronicle of Higher Education.

I cautiously add this to my cache of “interesting, forward-thinking uses of technology in education” file.  Although given the difficulty I had in setting up SL on my own workstation at UC Berkeley, I wonder how many students in the NOLA area are equipped with the bandwidth, memory, and hardware to do the same.

Regardless, I like the way they’re thinking.  Now, what would make this feel truly visionary and full-circle?  Offering classes on geopolitics related to climate change.  (I’m one of those who subscribes to the theory that weather catastrophes like Katrina are worsening because of global warming, and that we’d better do something about it soon.)

Leave a Reply

