Where I’ve been, where I’m going.

Well, my blogging has sure gone down the drain in the last few weeks.  There’s a good reason, though–actually, two.

One:  I’m getting ready for a presentation at the Canadian Library Association next week.  I’m presenting with friend and colleague Merinda McLure on a research project we’ve been doing at our respective institutions (UC Berkeley and Colorado State University) investigating how instructors and students experience library services in course management systems, and how they’d *like* to experience them.  We’ll make our presentation materials available on the conference website after the fact; in the meantime, we’re busy crunching data and wrangling Powerpoint.  (We promise to use it responsibly.)

Two:  All going well, I’ll be starting a new position at the beginning of June.  This is big news, obviously!  I’ve accepted a position as Head of the Library and Learning Commons at the University of Oregon, Portland.  I’ll be sad to leave Berkeley, but I’m very excited about the new position and about returning to the UO, which is near and dear to my heart.  The new job will be a little different from what I’ve been doing for the last few years here at Berkeley, so the emphasis in my blog will likely change somewhat.  I’ll still be learning, though!  Perhaps just not e-learning quite as much. 😉

I may not post regularly again until I’m installed in my new position, but then I hope to be back at it, and I hope you’ll all still read!

5 thoughts on “Where I’ve been, where I’m going.

  1. Emily says:

    Yay, you will be in Portland. It will be great to live in the same city again.

  2. Pam Ryan says:

    Congrats Karen. Hope to see you more at NW area events!

  3. Juanita says:

    The University of Oregon is lucky to have you (twice).

  4. Will Gerstmyer says:

    Karen
    Please let me know when you post, and also if you’d be willing to chat about e-learning. I did the concept design for a learning commons at UMass Dartmouth (very exciting) with some very eager librarians there and would like to understand the concept (or your concept since it could well be different) from a different angle. Congratulations and godspeed. thanks
    Will

  5. mcsarah says:

    Hi Karen, Many people really enjoy your blog, so I look forward to your return. Whatever you’re learning about, I want to learn too! Have a safe trip and congratulations, we’ll miss you when we visit Berkeley. Sarah

Leave a Reply

