Catch-up: reference questions

Now that fall’s in full swing, I’m teaching and doing reference as much as I’m, well, administering.  (What is the word for that–the endless work of emails, meetings, phone calls, and hallway conversations that makes an institution run?)  It’s a pleasure to be answering reference questions again, and it made me realize that I’ve let my reference question blog lapse.  I hereby offer some of the questions I’ve fielded recently, in the spirit of Bibliophagus, the much-loved, but now-largely-defunct reference question blog…

  • Where can I find a building outline map of an address in San Francisco?
  • Where can I find books on photography–not technical manuals, but books on theory and artistic approach–composition, ways of seeing, etc.?
  • Where can I find articles on best practices for fundraising in nonprofits?
  • Where can I find a general overview of the state of the conversation about political communication?
  • Where can I find scholarly articles about crisis management and public relations?
  • Where can I find scholarly articles about the differences between political campaigns and ballot measure campaigns?
  • I want to use Zotero, but it’s not logging me in/not recognizing my username/not synching to the server/not working at all.  Help!
  • I want to use Zotero Groups with my class, but I don’t know how it works.  Help!

I remember when I was in library school, examples of real-life reference questions were hard to come by and always fascinating.  I hope these pique the interest of some students or colleagues out there.  At least they’re more interesting than most of the emails I send.

Leave a Reply

